Skip to main content








$5 transaction fee / order


Monday 18 September 2023

6:30pm at Hamer Hall

Subscribe and save

Book this concert as part of a Quick Fix at Half Six subscription and save up to 15% off single ticket prices!

Subscribe now


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Xian Zhang conductor
Joyce Yang piano


Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.3
Smetana Má vlast (Vltava and Šárka)

About this performance

Perfect for first-time and long-time concertgoers alike, deep connection to place and warm nostalgia are at the heart of this exceptionally beautiful, lyrical program of music inspired by the composers’ homelands.

  • Following a long concert tour of America in 1909, Rachmaninov returned home to Russia where he spent the summer in the countryside outside of Moscow. This time at home not only renewed his spirit, but the natural landscape inspired the lyrical melodies of his Piano Concerto No.3 – one of the most memorable (and hummable) works for piano and orchestra. Extraordinary South Korean pianist Joyce Yang joins the MSO to perform this incredible work.
  • Despite becoming deaf almost as soon as he started writing Má vlast (My Homeland), Czech composer Smetana’s intimate and powerful expression of his homeland became one of his most celebrated works. The ebb and flow of the Moldau (Vltava) river running through Prague, and a folkloric tale of a slighted girl’s revenge are part of this work that heavily inspired the development of film composition in the 20th century.

Duration: approx. 1 hour, no interval.

Listen to Rachmaninov's Third Piano Concerto

Enhance your experience

Want to learn more about the music being performed? Stick around for an informative and entertaining post-concert talk.

Monday 18 September at 7.45pm
Hamer Hall Stalls Foyer

Stay tuned. Sign up.