Skip to main content








$5 transaction fee / order


Thursday 20 July 2023

7:30pm at Hamer Hall

Friday 21 July 2023

7:30pm at Robert Blackwood Hall

Saturday 22 July 2023

2:00pm at Hamer Hall

Subscribe and save

Book this concert as part of a Create Your Own Series subscription and save up to 15% off single ticket prices!

Create Your Own Series


Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Javier Perianes piano


Brahms Piano Concerto No.1
Paul Grabowsky New work – World premiere of an MSO Commission
Dvořák Symphony No.6

About this performance

Join the MSO and revered Spanish pianist Javier Perianes under the baton of Jaime Martín, featuring a newly commissioned work by Australian living legend Paul Grabowsky AO.

  • Written in response to Robert Schumann’s attempted suicide (as he slowly fell in love at arm’s length with Schumann’s wife Clara while helping her to recover) Brahms’ deeply personal concerto takes inspiration from Bach and Beethoven before him, and its premiere cemented Brahms’s reputation henceforth as the great ‘Third B’ in music history.
  • Dvořák’s Sixth Symphony is heavily inspired by the music of Brahms and Wagner, along with his signature incorporation of elements from Bohemian folk music. Described as one of the most majestic in the symphonic literature, its grand, sweeping melodies take us on a journey ending in radiant, sunny high spirits.
  • Australian musical legend Paul Grabowsky AO is known for his incredible versatility and virtuosity. Paul is a long-time friend of the MSO, and we are thrilled to present the world premiere of this work as the culmination of his time as MSO Composer in Residence.

Duration: approx. 2 hours and 15 minutes including interval

Listen to Brahms' First Piano Concerto

Enhance your experience

Want to learn more about the music being performed? Arrive early for an informative and entertaining pre-concert talk.

Thursday 20 July at 6.45pm
Saturday 22 July at 1.15pm

Hamer Hall Stalls Foyer

Friday 21 July at 6.45pm
Robert Blackwood Hall

Stay tuned. Sign up.